SADC Project Preparation and Development Facility (grants to prepare cross-border projects)
Record SADC-P-0003 · draft, not yet reviewed by a person
Status by track
DeliveryOperating · Mar 2022sources checked 28 Oct 2026
The facility gives grants to prepare cross-border projects. SADC said in January 2021 that it had approved €20 million for 13 projects by 2019. Its 2022 Summit brochure gives a running total of US$20.2 million for 12 projects as of March 2022, after savings and cancellations.
- grants approved, to 2019 · 2019the facility had "approved a total of Euro 20 million for the preparation of 13 regional projects" the facility had "approved a total of Euro 20 million for the preparation of 13 regional projects"not yet checked by a personSADC Project Preparation Development Facility continues to support Member States · news item text · not yet checked by a person
- grants approved, running total to March 2022 · Mar 2022"As of March 2022, PPDF had approved a total of US$20.2 million (after savings and cancellation) for the preparation of 12 regional projects covering energy, transport and water sectors" "As of March 2022, PPDF had approved a total of US$20.2 million (after savings and cancellation) for the preparation of 12 regional projects covering energy, transport and water sectors"not yet checked by a person42nd SADC Summit, Democratic Republic of Congo, 17-18 August 2022 (Summit brochure) · printed p.50 (PDF p.52), Development Finance · not yet checked by a person
- transaction adviser for the MOZISA interconnector · undatedUS$3.5 million, the facility's first allocation, for the "appointment of a Transaction Advisor to assist SAPP" on the Mozambique–Zimbabwe–South Africa interconnector, with a bankable feasibility study among the deliverables US$3.5 million, the facility's first allocation, for the "appointment of a Transaction Advisor to assist SAPP" on the Mozambique–Zimbabwe–South Africa interconnector, with a bankable feasibility study among the deliverablesnot yet checked by a personSADC approves more than US$3m towards regional interconnector project · article text · not yet checked by a person
- fund managerthe funds are "administered, managed and disbursed by the Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)" on behalf of the SADC Secretariat the funds are "administered, managed and disbursed by the Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)" on behalf of the SADC Secretariatnot yet checked by a personSADC Project Preparation Development Facility continues to support Member States · news item text · not yet checked by a person
- How the €20 million approved by 2019 and the US$20.2 million running total of March 2022 relate (currency, savings, cancellations). The sources read give no reconciliation.
- Which of the prepared projects reached financial close. Not found in the sources read.
- Whether ZiZaBoNa received preparation money from the facility. It is not among the 12 projects in the brochure's pipeline table (March 2022); later allocations were not read.
FundingUnknown
- How much of the EU and KfW contributions has been paid in and spent. Not found in the sources read; the contributions are under Financing.
Financing
What the sources say this costs and who is putting money in. All projects' financing
- European Union to SADC Secretariat · Grant · EUR 11.5 million (contribution as stated by SADC) · stage: Identifiedthe European Union provides 11.5 million euros to the facility the European Union provides 11.5 million euros to the facilityparaphrase, not a quotationSADC Project Preparation Development Facility continues to support Member States · news item text · paraphrase, not a quotationTerms: currency of debt not applicable (a grant); rate not applicable (a grant); tenor not applicable (a grant); grace period not applicable (a grant); guarantee not applicable (a grant).
- KfW Development Bank to SADC Secretariat · Form not stated · EUR 10.1 million (contribution as stated by SADC) · stage: IdentifiedKfW Development Bank provides 10.1 million euros to the facility KfW Development Bank provides 10.1 million euros to the facilityparaphrase, not a quotationSADC Project Preparation Development Facility continues to support Member States · news item text · paraphrase, not a quotationTerms: currency of debt not stated by the source; rate not stated by the source; tenor not stated by the source; grace period not stated by the source; guarantee not stated by the source.
- Whether the contributions are grants to the facility or reach it on other terms. The news item does not say for KfW.
Sources checked 28 Oct 2026. Amounts are shown in the currency the source gives, never converted or added together.
Making projects bankable
A measure meant to make projects financeable. All such measures
Project preparation. Grants to SADC member states to prepare cross-border energy, transport, ICT and water projects, including transaction advice and feasibility studies, before lenders are approached.
Evidence that it exists
- grants approved, to 2019 (by 2019)the facility had "approved a total of Euro 20 million for the preparation of 13 regional projects" the facility had "approved a total of Euro 20 million for the preparation of 13 regional projects"not yet checked by a personSADC Project Preparation Development Facility continues to support Member States · news item text · not yet checked by a person
- transaction adviser for the MOZISA interconnectorUS$3.5 million, the facility's first allocation, for the "appointment of a Transaction Advisor to assist SAPP" on the Mozambique–Zimbabwe–South Africa interconnector, with a bankable feasibility study among the deliverables US$3.5 million, the facility's first allocation, for the "appointment of a Transaction Advisor to assist SAPP" on the Mozambique–Zimbabwe–South Africa interconnector, with a bankable feasibility study among the deliverablesnot yet checked by a personSADC approves more than US$3m towards regional interconnector project · article text · not yet checked by a person
Who carries the risk, and what it costs
Not found in the sources read.
- Whether recipients repay or co-fund the preparation grants, and what happens to the money if a project is dropped. Not found in the sources read.
This records that the measure exists and how far it has got. It is not evidence that it made any project happen.
Institutions named
A role is shown only where a quoted source says what the institution does on this reform.
Reach: 0 cross-border links, 0 blockers, 4 institutions in 3 countries or bodies. Counted from the records.